Being charged criminally in Colorado is a very serious matter. You could end up paying fines and even losing your freedom for days, months or years. Just being charged with a crime does not automatically mean you’re guilty; sometimes the police get it wrong, despite their best efforts. Even if you did make a mistake, you don’t deserve the maximum punishment allowed by law.
It’s important to have an experienced criminal lawyer at your side so your rights are protected throughout your case.Check out the following criminal charges in Colorado to get an idea of what you might be facing if you’ve been charged with a crime in the state.
Petty offenses are considered the least serious of criminal charges, and Class 1 examples might include things such as gambling and disturbing the public peace, while Class 2 could be littering or selling alcohol to minors. Class 1 fines can go up to $500 dollars and jail sentences are six months or less. With Class 2 offenses, the fines and jail time vary depending on the charge, but jail time can go up to one year.
More serious than petty offenses, misdemeanors come in three classes. Class 1 is the most serious and can include unlawful sexual contact and third-degree assault. Jail time ranges from 6 to 18 months and fines start at $500 and can go as high as $5,000. Class 2 misdemeanors, such as theft of property worth less than $500 but more than $100 and selling drug paraphernalia, carry jail sentences from 3 months to a year and fines between $250 and $1,000. Fines between $50 and $750 and jail time of up to six months are the possible penalties for a Class 3 misdemeanor, which can include theft of property worth less than $100 and prostitution.
Felonies are very serious crimes in Colorado. Jail times can be long and fines can be high, and people with felonies on their records often experience employment difficulties. For a Class 1 felony, which is reserved for crimes such as murder and sexual assault, the jail sentence could be for life. A Class 2 felony charge includes sexual assault and a second conviction for selling certain types of drugs. Class 2 felony penalties include 8 to 24 years in jail and fines going from $5,000 all the way up to $1,000,000. First-degree burglary and vehicular homicide are instances of a Class 3 felony, which have fines of up to $750,000 and jail sentences of 4 to 12 years.
Crimes such as manslaughter and robbery constitute Class 4 felonies and carry jail sentences from two to six years and fines from $2,000 to $500,000. Stalking, menacing and not registering as a sex offender are all examples of Class 5 felonies, which carry prison sentences of one to three years and fines ranging from $1,000 to $100,000. The least serious felony type is a Class 6, such as possession of two grams or less of methamphetamine. These charges carry jail time of one year to eighteen months and fines of $1,000 to $100,000.
No matter what type of crime you’ve been charged with, there’s always the possibility of a fine and jail time in Colorado, and having a conviction on your record can make life more difficult for you in the future. Speak to a skilled criminal lawyer so you don’t have to go through this process alone. With so much on the line, it’s important to have experienced legal help on your side so your rights are protected and you have a chance to get the best possible outcome for your case. While court-appointed lawyers do their best, they are often over-burdened with cases and will not be able to give yours the time and attention it deserves.
What We Do
At the Law Office of Richard J. Banta, P.C., we will work with you to mount your defense and help you weigh all your options. Throughout your case, we will be available to answer your questions and keep you informed. You’ll never be left in the dark, and we will listen to your concerns and your decisions.
Contact us about your case today by calling 303-331-3145.